Product demo
See PermitPrep.AI review a drawing set
A 40-second walkthrough: upload your drawings and get a professional code compliance report in about 20 minutes. Below is a real sample report, anonymized.
Sample Compliance Report — real review, anonymized
NORTHFIELD COMPOSITES RENOVATION & EXPANSION
40 GRANITE MILL ROAD HARLOW, MASSACHUSETTS 01499
Verdict
NOT APPROVABLE
- Jurisdiction
- Harlow, MA
- Design Team
- STONEBRIDGE ARCHITECTS (FICTIONAL), 100 MAIN STREET, HARLOW, MA 01499; MEADOWLINE LANDSCAPE DESIGN LLC (FICTIONAL), BOSTON, MA
- Occupancy
- BUSINESS [B], FACTORY [F-1], STORAGE [S-1]
- Construction Type
- TYPE IIB UNPROTECTED, NON-COMBUSTIBLE
- Stories / Height / Area
- 1 · NEW T.O. PARAPET 136'-0" (FIRST FLOOR 100'-0"); 36'-0" dimension shown on East Elevation · 19,550 SF WAREHOUSE ADDITION
- Sprinkler
- Compliant — sprinkler system shown and matches building type.
- Drawing Set
- Northfield Composites - Permit Set.pdf — 147 sheets
- Generated
- October 7, 2026 · 686s processing
133
Passed
7
Failed
135
Need Review
278 total checks · 4 critical · 85 major · 56 minor
The submitted drawings are NOT approvable as submitted. 2 critical-severity violation(s) must be resolved before resubmittal. This public sample shows 21 of the 142 findings; names and the address are fictional.
Sample report: 21 of the 142 FAIL / REVIEW findings from the full review are shown, and only the sheets they cite are listed. Project, firm and people names and the address are fictional.
Applicable Codes
Not checked in this review
These can change what the code requires. Confirm each with the authority having jurisdiction.
- Wildfire zone: Whether the site is in a wildfire hazard or wildland-urban interface area, and the construction rules that come with it, was not checked.
- Seismic site data: USGS site data for this address give ASCE 7-16: SDC C, SDS 0.332 g, SD1 0.116 g; ASCE 7-22: SDC B, SDS 0.23 g, SD1 0.084 g (Risk Category II, Site Class D assumed). Not independently verified; the structural general notes and the geotechnical report govern.
- Local energy-code tier: Flagged for this site (Massachusetts Stretch Energy Code) — see the verification notice in the findings. The specific requirements were not verified.
- Healthcare, school and federal projects: A licensed healthcare facility, a public school or a federal building may fall under a state or federal agency's rules instead of, or on top of, the local code. Those rules were not applied.
- Historic buildings: Historic-district or landmark status, and the alternative compliance paths it can allow, was not considered.
- Zoning, stormwater, wetlands, utilities and site-plan approvals: Zoning compliance (setbacks, height, coverage, parking counts), stormwater and NPDES permits, wetlands and other environmental approvals, utility connections and site-plan approval are decided by other authorities and are outside a building-code review. Where civil sheets were provided, only the building- and fire-code items on them were reviewed: accessible routes and accessible parking, fire apparatus access and hydrants.
- Elevators and modular construction: State elevator-code requirements and state programs for factory-built (modular) buildings were not checked.
- Wind-borne debris region and HVHZ: The site was determined not to be in a wind-borne debris region (Drawings state a design wind speed of 116 mph. Site is 27.21 mile(s) from the mapped coastline (Census TIGER 2024). 780 CMR Table 1604.11 lists Harlow at 116 mph for Risk Category II. 116 mph is below 130 mph: not a wind-borne debris region.).
- Flood zone and elevation: Flood zone, BFE and the lowest floor elevation were judged in the findings (780 CMR 1612.2 and the Massachusetts-amended ASCE 24 table). Not checked: the flood design class assumed from the occupancy, the datum conversion where the drawings and FIRM differ, and any LOMA/LOMR.
- State accessibility standard: 521 CMR was applied where it is stricter than the 2010 ADA Standards for the provisions listed in the findings. Not checked: the building's full and fair cash value for the 521 CMR 3.3 trigger and any Architectural Access Board variances.
Failures Requiring Resolution (7)
1. Common path of egress travel – Route D (Sheet A.002)
IBC 2021 Section 1006.2.1 and Table 1006.2.1 Common Path of Egress Travel; 527 CMR 1.00 (NFPA 101 2021 Chapter 42 Storage Occupancies)
The A.002 'FIRST FLOOR - COMMON PATH OF TRAVEL' table lists ROUTE D at 115'-0". Route D is drawn in the new warehouse addition (S-1), which is new construction. The Chapter 10 note on the same sheet states the sprinklered common-path limit is 100'. Exemption check: Table 1006.2.1 allows 100 ft for sprinklered B, F and S. No footnote or exception increases common path for S-1 or F-1, and the occupancy is not one with a longer sprinklered allowance. No exemption applies, so 115'-0" exceeds the 100'-0" limit by 15'-0".
2. Fire code of record misidentified (Sheet A.002)
780 CMR 101.4.5; 527 CMR 1.00 (per 780 CMR 1002.1 and 1002.2, MA amendments to IBC 2021)
The A.002 APPLICABLE CODES block lists 'FIRE CODE - 2021 INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE NOT AMENDED'. The IFC is also used as the compliance basis elsewhere on the sheet. The Chapter 4 note '413: COMBUSTIBLE STORAGE SHALL COMPLY WITH THE INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE' relies on it. The MAQ table footnote takes its 100% increase for cabinets and safety cans from 'SECTION 5003.9.10 OF THE INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE'. Note 414.2.5.1 also references the IFC. The IFC is not adopted in Harlow. The hazardous-materials and storage basis must instead be shown under 527 CMR 1.00 (NFPA 1 2021 Chapter 60, with NFPA 30).
3. PP6 bus rating vs. T5 secondary overcurrent device (Sheet E.702, E.703, E.603, E.111)
527 CMR 12.00 (NEC 2023 Section 408.36 Overcurrent Protection of Panelboards; Section 240.21(C) Transformer Secondary Conductors; Section 240.4(F) Transformer Secondary Conductors)
Panel PP6 on E.703 is 225 A MLO, 208Y/120 V, 3-phase, 4-wire, with 'Supply From: PLP3 VIA T5'. The Dry Type Transformer Copper Schedule on E.702 lists T5 (75 kVA) with a 208 V secondary overcurrent device of '250A-3P' and a secondary feeder of 4#250KCMIL & 1#4G - 2-1/2"C. Schedule note 4 places that device either in the panelboard main breaker or in an individually mounted breaker. PP6 has no main breaker, so the 250 A device would be the only protection for the 225 A bus. 250 A exceeds the 225 A bus rating. The New Work one-line on E.702 shows PLP3 → T5 → PP6 with no secondary breaker drawn at all. E.603 shows T5 and PP6 next to each other but no secondary device. Exemption check: the 240.4(F) exception for primary-only protection covers only single-phase 2-wire or 3-phase 3-wire delta-delta secondaries. T5 is 208Y/120 V, 3-phase, 4-wire, so no exception applies.
4. Zone thermostat deadband – VAV electric reheat (Sheet H.903)
IECC 2021 Section C403.4.1.2 Deadband (225 CMR 21.00 / 22.00)
Detail 4/H.903, Air Control Terminal with Electric Heater, shows the terminal box damper setpoint chart. It defines a '2°F DEAD BAND' from -1°F to +1°F about setpoint, with the electric coil energized below -1°F and a '3°F COOLING RANGE' above. This sequence applies to VAV-01, VAV-02 and VAV-03 on H.600, Detail 3. Each box has integral electric reheat and is cooled by the same packaged RTU through a single zone sensor. The C403.4.1.2 exceptions do not apply: there is no manual changeover thermostat and the zones are not special-occupancy zones. A 2°F band is below the 5°F minimum.
5. Circuit directory identification (Sheet E.703)
527 CMR 12.00 (NEC 2023 Section 408.4(A) Circuit Directory or Circuit Identification)
The new panel PP6 on E.703 labels CKT 13, 15, 17 and 18 only as 'Receptacles', with no room or area. E.603 shows these circuits in New Control Rooms #1–#3 (112–114) and the XP receptacles there. PP6 also has three identical 'ROLL-UP DOOR' entries (CKT 1-3-5, 7-9-11, 12-14-16) with no door number. On E.702, both MDP schedules list CKT 3 and CKT 6 as 'EXISTING LOAD (ON - UNLABELED)' in a switchboard being modified under this permit.
6. Emergency shower head height (Sheet P.900)
ANSI/ISEA Z358.1 (adopted for emergency wash systems under 248 CMR 10.10(13) and the Massachusetts Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters policy of February 7, 2018)
Detail 10 'EMERGENCY SHOWEER EYEWASH' on P.900 dimensions the drench shower head as '80" MIN' above the finished floor. This allows a head as low as 80 in., which is below the 82 in. minimum. No exception applies. ESEW-1 is scheduled on P.700 as Guardian G1902; the product's head height is not stated, and the detail dimension governs installation.
7. Tepid water mixing valve capacity vs. emergency fixture demand (Sheet P.700, P.900, P.600, E.703)
248 CMR 10.10(13) Emergency Wash Systems
P.700 Thermostatic Mixing Valve Schedule lists TMV-2 (Powers ETV200, ASSE 1071) with a design flow of 20.0 GPM at a 10.0 psi maximum pressure drop and a 1" outlet. The demand it serves is higher: - ESEW-1 is a combination shower/eyewash (Guardian G1902). The shower alone is scheduled at 20.0 GPM, before any eyewash flow is added. - 248 CMR 10.10(13) requires the supply to be sized for two showers running together, which is 40 gpm. The 20.0 GPM valve design flow therefore falls short of the required demand. The 1" outlet also feeds the 1-1/4" tempered supply shown in P.900 Detail 10. Exemption check: 248 CMR 10.10(13) as amended contains no reduced-flow exception for combination units.
Detailed Findings
21 findings shown, grouped by discipline. Each one cites the code section, including the Massachusetts amendment where one applies.
Architectural
Requirement: In sprinklered Group B, F and S occupancies, common path of egress travel may not exceed 100 ft.
Finding: The A.002 'FIRST FLOOR - COMMON PATH OF TRAVEL' table lists ROUTE D at 115'-0". Route D is drawn in the new warehouse addition (S-1), which is new construction. The Chapter 10 note on the same sheet states the sprinklered common-path limit is 100'. Exemption check: Table 1006.2.1 allows 100 ft for sprinklered B, F and S. No footnote or exception increases common path for S-1 or F-1, and the occupancy is not one with a longer sprinklered allowance. No exemption applies, so 115'-0" exceeds the 100'-0" limit by 15'-0".
Recommendation
Reduce the common path at Route D to 100'-0" or less. This can be done by adding an exit or exit-access door, or by relocating doors in the addition so two separate egress paths become available sooner. Revise the A.002 table and plan.
Evidence: A.002
Requirement: In Massachusetts the fire code is 527 CMR 1.00 (NFPA 1 2021 with MA amendments), not the IFC, and code analyses must reference it, including for hazardous-materials and combustible-storage compliance.
Finding: The A.002 APPLICABLE CODES block lists 'FIRE CODE - 2021 INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE NOT AMENDED'. The IFC is also used as the compliance basis elsewhere on the sheet. The Chapter 4 note '413: COMBUSTIBLE STORAGE SHALL COMPLY WITH THE INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE' relies on it. The MAQ table footnote takes its 100% increase for cabinets and safety cans from 'SECTION 5003.9.10 OF THE INTERNATIONAL FIRE CODE'. Note 414.2.5.1 also references the IFC. The IFC is not adopted in Harlow. The hazardous-materials and storage basis must instead be shown under 527 CMR 1.00 (NFPA 1 2021 Chapter 60, with NFPA 30).
Recommendation
Revise A.002 Applicable Codes to 527 CMR 1.00, the Massachusetts Comprehensive Fire Safety Code (NFPA 1 2021). Re-cite the MAQ cabinet/safety-can increase and the combustible-storage notes to NFPA 1 Chapter 60 / NFPA 30, or to the 780 CMR section that retains the IFC reference (780 CMR 413.11, 414.2).
Evidence: A.002
Requirement: A panelboard must be protected by an overcurrent device rated no higher than its bus. When it is fed through a transformer with a 3-phase, 4-wire secondary, that device must be on the secondary side, because primary protection alone cannot protect the secondary conductors.
Finding: Panel PP6 on E.703 is 225 A MLO, 208Y/120 V, 3-phase, 4-wire, with 'Supply From: PLP3 VIA T5'. The Dry Type Transformer Copper Schedule on E.702 lists T5 (75 kVA) with a 208 V secondary overcurrent device of '250A-3P' and a secondary feeder of 4#250KCMIL & 1#4G - 2-1/2"C. Schedule note 4 places that device either in the panelboard main breaker or in an individually mounted breaker. PP6 has no main breaker, so the 250 A device would be the only protection for the 225 A bus. 250 A exceeds the 225 A bus rating. The New Work one-line on E.702 shows PLP3 → T5 → PP6 with no secondary breaker drawn at all. E.603 shows T5 and PP6 next to each other but no secondary device. Exemption check: the 240.4(F) exception for primary-only protection covers only single-phase 2-wire or 3-phase 3-wire delta-delta secondaries. T5 is 208Y/120 V, 3-phase, 4-wire, so no exception applies.
Recommendation
Show a secondary overcurrent device rated 225 A or less on the E.702 one-line and transformer schedule. Either revise PP6 to a 225 A main-breaker panel, or provide a 225 A individually mounted breaker within 10 ft of the T5 secondary terminals. Confirm the 250 kcmil secondary conductors terminate in that device per 240.21(C)(2).
Evidence: E.702, E.703, E.603, E.111
Requirement: Work at 30% or more of the building's full and fair cash value brings the whole building under 521 CMR. Below 30%, work of $100,000 or more requires an accessible entrance, toilet room and drinking fountain.
Finding: A.002 lists 'ACCESSIBILITY CODE - 521 CMR (MAAB) AND 2010 ADA'. However, neither A.002 nor A.003 states the construction cost against the building's full and fair cash value. The scope combines a Level 2 alteration with a 19,550 SF addition, so the 30% threshold is plausibly exceeded. That would extend 521 CMR compliance to the existing building outside the 2,814 SF work area.
Recommendation
Add a 521 CMR 3.3 analysis to the code summary showing the assessed full and fair cash value and the aggregate 36-month construction cost. If 30% or more, identify how the existing building will be brought into compliance or cite an AAB variance.
Evidence: A.002, A.003
Requirement: Quantities per control area must be within the MAQ for the actual condition (storage, closed use, open use). For example, sprinklered combined IB/IC is 240 gal storage/closed use but only 60 gal open use.
Finding: The MAQ analysis does not establish the use condition or the quantities in the new building: - On A.003, every row of the CURRENT HAZARDOUS MATERIALS table shows the storage method as 'CLIENT TO CONFIRM'. - The A.002 'MAQ STORAGE PER CONTROL AREA' chart compares quantities only against the storage column. - In the F-1 production use, open-use limits may govern. Control Room 2 shows IB/IC at 59.4 gal against a 60-gal open-use limit. - All four control areas in the new addition are listed as '_' (unknown), with the note 'OWNER TO MAINTAIN MAXIMUM ALLOWED QUANTITIES'. - The table footnote relies on the cabinet/safety-can increase, but the storage method is unconfirmed.
Recommendation
Confirm the storage method and the use condition (storage, closed use, open use) for each material on A.003. Revise the A.002 MAQ chart to compare against the governing column. Provide the planned quantities for the new-addition control areas, or a hazardous materials inventory statement acceptable to the fire official under 527 CMR 1.00.
Evidence: A.002, A.003
Structural
Requirement: Exterior steel or wooden egress stairs must be examined and certified for structural adequacy every five years by a registered design professional or other qualified person.
Finding: A.501 shows a new exterior egress stair and landing at Door 111A. It is built of 'GALV BAR GRATING STAIR TREADS & LANDING' and 'GALV METAL GUARDRAIL & HANDRAIL', which makes it a steel exterior stairway subject to the Massachusetts five-year recertification. Neither A.501 nor the stair details note this requirement for the owner.
Recommendation
Add a note on A.501 that the exterior steel egress stair is subject to five-year inspection and certification under 780 CMR 1001.2.2. Include the requirement in the closeout and owner O&M documentation.
Evidence: A.501, A.213, A.201, A.211, A.212
Requirement: A fire door in a fire wall must be a labeled assembly of the required size and must be self-closing or automatic-closing. Openings in a fire wall are limited to 156 sq ft each unless both sides are sprinklered, and to 25% of the wall length in aggregate.
Finding: The A.631 Door Schedule lists overhead doors 111D and 111E as type OHD1, 3HR, with width and height both entered as 0" x 0". No hardware set, frame or operator is given for either door. A note at the bottom of the schedule shows "144" 144"" (12'-0" x 12'-0", 144 sq ft), but it is not tied to a door number. At 144 sq ft each opening is within the 156 sq ft limit. However, the schedule does not show (a) the actual door size, (b) that the doors are listed 3-hour rolling fire doors, or (c) the automatic-closing means: a fire alarm or smoke detector release and governor, as required for a fire door normally held open in a fire wall. The aggregate opening width in the FS3 wall (111C at 3 ft, plus 111D and 111E at 12 ft each, about 27 ft total) cannot be checked against 25% of the wall length on this sheet.
Recommendation
Revise the A.631 schedule to give the actual 111D/111E sizes. Specify listed 3-hour rolling fire doors with automatic-closing operators released by smoke detection or fire alarm. Coordinate the release with FA.101. State the FS3 wall length and the aggregate opening width on A.002 to show compliance with IBC 706.8.
Evidence: A.631, A.621, A.402, A.002, ASR.101, A.101, ASR.201, A.113, FA.101, A.312
Mechanical
Requirement: Zone controls that run both heating and cooling must be able to hold a deadband of at least 5°F, with no heating or cooling energy used inside that band.
Finding: Detail 4/H.903, Air Control Terminal with Electric Heater, shows the terminal box damper setpoint chart. It defines a '2°F DEAD BAND' from -1°F to +1°F about setpoint, with the electric coil energized below -1°F and a '3°F COOLING RANGE' above. This sequence applies to VAV-01, VAV-02 and VAV-03 on H.600, Detail 3. Each box has integral electric reheat and is cooled by the same packaged RTU through a single zone sensor. The C403.4.1.2 exceptions do not apply: there is no manual changeover thermostat and the zones are not special-occupancy zones. A 2°F band is below the 5°F minimum.
Recommendation
Revise the 4/H.903 sequence chart and the control sequences to give at least a 5°F deadband between heating and cooling setpoints. Include the adjustable setpoints in the H.800 schematics or sequences.
Evidence: H.903, H.600
Requirement: Toilet rooms, kitchens and other exhausted spaces must be mechanically exhausted at not less than the rates in the MA-amended exhaust column of IMC Table 403.3.1.1.
Finding: H.700 contains no exhaust fan schedule. EF-112 is tagged in the electrical schedules (PLP3 CKT 26,28,30; 3 FLA, 4 MCA, 15 MOCP) but has no CFM, ESP or served spaces in the HVAC set. ERC-2 is scheduled at 2,400 CFM on 'EXHAUST' service with no exhaust source identified. The new/renovated toilet rooms 103, 104, 105, 106 and Unisex 109 (A.611) and Kitchen Area 107A have no scheduled exhaust quantities. The required-versus-scheduled exhaust comparison therefore cannot be made. Existing EF-2E is shown to remain on HD.101 with no capacity stated.
Recommendation
Add an exhaust fan schedule to H.700 for EF-112 (and any other new or reused fans). Give CFM, ESP, motor data and spaces served, and show that each toilet room and kitchen meets the 780 CMR 2802 amended exhaust rates. Identify the exhaust source for ERC-2's 2,400 CFM.
Evidence: H.700, H.000, E.703, A.611
Requirement: The fan serving toilet room exhaust must deliver the scheduled grille total so that each toilet room meets its minimum exhaust rate.
Finding: H.600, Detail 3 connects the renovated restrooms 103–106 to '(E)12"x10" EXH UP TO (E) EF-2E'. The restroom grilles are 'EG-A 140 TYP. 2' (6"x6" and 8"x8"), about 280 CFM per room. No existing fan capacity or field test value for EF-2E is shown. It cannot be confirmed that the existing fan can deliver the new grille total.
Recommendation
Provide the EF-2E nameplate or test-and-balance capacity on H.700 and show it equals or exceeds the sum of all connected restroom grilles. If it does not, replace or upsize the fan.
Evidence: H.600, H.700
Electrical
Requirement: Every circuit and circuit modification must be legibly identified by its specific purpose or use, clearly enough to tell it apart from all others.
Finding: The new panel PP6 on E.703 labels CKT 13, 15, 17 and 18 only as 'Receptacles', with no room or area. E.603 shows these circuits in New Control Rooms #1–#3 (112–114) and the XP receptacles there. PP6 also has three identical 'ROLL-UP DOOR' entries (CKT 1-3-5, 7-9-11, 12-14-16) with no door number. On E.702, both MDP schedules list CKT 3 and CKT 6 as 'EXISTING LOAD (ON - UNLABELED)' in a switchboard being modified under this permit.
Recommendation
Revise the PP6 directory to identify each receptacle circuit by room (for example 'RCPT – CONTROL RM #2 113') and each roll-up door by door number. Trace and identify the unlabeled MDP feeders per Demolition General Note 4 on E.001.
Evidence: E.703, E.603, E.702
Requirement: Switchboards and panelboards likely to be serviced while energized must carry arc-flash warning labels. Service equipment rated 1200 A or more needs the additional 110.16(B) label data. Breakers with trip settings of 1200 A or more must have an arc energy reduction method.
Finding: None of the following contains an arc-flash labeling requirement for the new PLP3, PP6 or T5, or for the 2000 A add-alternate MDP: the General Notes on E.001, the Typical Panelboard Notes on E.701–E.703, or the labeling details on E.900, which cover only receptacle, switch and disconnect circuit labels. E.001 lists the abbreviation 'AFR – ARC FAULT REDUCTION', but no breaker on the one-line is assigned it. The service/main device rating for the 2000 A MDP is not shown, so it cannot be determined whether 240.87 applies.
Recommendation
Add a note requiring 110.16(A) arc-flash warning labels on MDP, PLP3, PP6 and all modified existing panels, and 110.16(B) label content on the 2000 A service equipment. Where any service or feeder breaker is 1200 A or more, identify the 240.87 method (for example ERMS or a maintenance switch) on E.702.
Evidence: E.702, E.001, E.900
Requirement: Equipment interrupting and short-circuit ratings must equal or exceed the available fault current at the line terminals. Non-dwelling service equipment must be field-marked with the available fault current and the date of the calculation.
Finding: Ratings shown: MDP 50KAIC, new PLP3 42KAIC, new PP6 10KAIC. Existing PLP1, PLP2, PP1-A, PP1C, PP2 and PP5 are 'ETR'. No utility available fault current, transformer impedance or short-circuit study appears anywhere on the electrical sheets. Typical Panelboard Note 5 prohibits series ratings, so PLP3 (42 kA) must be fully rated for the fault current at its terminals downstream of a 50 kA-rated MDP. E.603 keynote 2 requires the new 250 A MDP breaker to match the existing kAIC, but that value is not stated. (Applies across 5 sheets: E.702, E.703, E.603, E.602, E.111.)
Recommendation
Provide a fault-current calculation listing utility available fault current and the transformer %Z for T5 and T7. Show available fault current at MDP, PLP3, PP6 and each existing panel receiving new breakers, and confirm each AIC rating exceeds it. Add the 110.24 field-marking requirement for the service equipment.
Evidence: E.702, E.703, E.603, E.602, E.111
Plumbing
Requirement: A plumbed emergency shower head must be at least 82 in. and no more than 96 in. above the floor.
Finding: Detail 10 'EMERGENCY SHOWEER EYEWASH' on P.900 dimensions the drench shower head as '80" MIN' above the finished floor. This allows a head as low as 80 in., which is below the 82 in. minimum. No exception applies. ESEW-1 is scheduled on P.700 as Guardian G1902; the product's head height is not stated, and the detail dimension governs installation.
Recommendation
Revise Detail 10 on P.900 to dimension the shower head between 82 in. MIN and 96 in. MAX AFF. Coordinate the G1902 mounting so the installed head falls in that range.
Evidence: P.900, P.700
Requirement: Each safety shower must deliver 20 gpm continuously for 15 minutes at 60–100 °F. The supply must be sized for two showers operating together, and a combination unit must also supply its eyewash at the same time.
Finding: P.700 Thermostatic Mixing Valve Schedule lists TMV-2 (Powers ETV200, ASSE 1071) with a design flow of 20.0 GPM at a 10.0 psi maximum pressure drop and a 1" outlet. The demand it serves is higher: - ESEW-1 is a combination shower/eyewash (Guardian G1902). The shower alone is scheduled at 20.0 GPM, before any eyewash flow is added. - 248 CMR 10.10(13) requires the supply to be sized for two showers running together, which is 40 gpm. The 20.0 GPM valve design flow therefore falls short of the required demand. The 1" outlet also feeds the 1-1/4" tempered supply shown in P.900 Detail 10. Exemption check: 248 CMR 10.10(13) as amended contains no reduced-flow exception for combination units.
Recommendation
Reselect TMV-2, and size the tempered branch, for the full simultaneous demand required by 248 CMR 10.10(13): two showers at 20 gpm each, plus eyewash flow for the combination unit. Revise P.700 to show design flow and pressure drop at that demand.
Evidence: P.700, P.900, P.600, E.703
Requirement: A fixed storage water heater branch circuit must be rated at no less than 125% of the heater's nameplate current.
Finding: P.700 schedules EWH-1 at 12,200 W, 208 V, single phase. The electrical schedules list EWH-1 at 12KW on a 50 A 3P breaker (PP2 CKT 21,23,25). - If single phase as scheduled on P.700: 12,200 W / 208 V is about 58.7 A, which requires about 73 A at 125%. The 50 A breaker is undersized. - If three phase: the current is about 34 A, which requires about 42 A at 125%, and the 50 A breaker is adequate. The phase must be resolved.
Recommendation
Coordinate the plumbing and electrical schedules to one voltage and phase for EWH-1. Size the circuit and overcurrent device at 125% or more of the nameplate current per NEC 2023 422.13.
Evidence: P.700, E.703
Requirement: Minimum plumbing facilities are determined from the 248 CMR fixture table using the code-calculated occupant load; a reduction based on actual staffing needs relief from the Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters.
Finding: The A.002 PLUMBING FIXTURE REQUIREMENTS table computes required fixtures from occupant loads of 78/78, 34/34 and 18/18. The REQUIRED row shows toilets F=7/M=5, lavatories F=8/M=8, drinking fountains 4 and mop sinks 3. The PROVIDED row shows toilets F=6/M=3 plus 1 unisex and 2 urinals, lavatories F=4/M=4 plus 1 unisex, 1 drinking fountain and 1 mop sink. The note '* PLUMBING FIXTURES PROVIDED BASED ON ACTUAL OCCUPANT LOAD OF 45 AT PEAK OPERATION' justifies the shortfall. No variance from the Plumbing Board is cited.
Recommendation
Either provide fixtures meeting the code-calculated REQUIRED row, or obtain and cite a 248 CMR variance from the Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters approving the actual-occupant-load basis.
Evidence: A.002, A.611, P.700, A.003, P.600, P.601
Fire Protection
Requirement: Fire department access roads must be at least 20 ft wide, with turning radii acceptable to the AHJ and at least 13 ft 6 in. vertical clearance. The road must come within 150 ft of all portions of the exterior walls of the first story.
Finding: The C2.1 Zoning Summary lists 'Driveways and Entrances … 20' (two way)' and proposed 'Existing Driveway'. This is the only access dimension on the sheet. The 19,550 SF warehouse addition enlarges the building footprint, so the 150 ft perimeter coverage must be rechecked for the new faces. C2.1 gives no fire lane width at the addition, no inside or outside turning radius, and no hose-lay measurement. These values belong on the C5.1 Layout & Materials Plan, which is not part of this page. (Applies across 7 sheets: C2.1, C5.1, C6.1, FP.101, FP.600, L.100, L.101.)
Recommendation
On C5.1, dimension the access drive width at the addition (20 ft minimum) and the turning radii, and show a 150 ft hose-lay diagram covering all faces of the existing building and the addition. Obtain Harlow Fire Department acceptance of the access layout.
Evidence: C2.1, C5.1, C6.1, FP.101, FP.600, L.100, L.101, L.300, L.200
Requirement: Each room must be assigned a hazard classification or commodity basis, and the hydraulic remote area must cover the most demanding hazard served.
Finding: The new Control Rooms #1–#3 (112–114) are enclosed with 45-minute doors per the A.631 schedule. They sit under the low roof shown on FP.601 ('LOW ROOF AREA. COORDINATE PIPING AND SPRINKLERS AS REQUIRED'). They also receive in-duct sprinklers for exhaust ducts 10 in. or larger, per detail 9/FP.901. FP.601 does not give a hazard classification, density/area or sprinkler type for the control rooms. Both calculated remote areas are ESFR areas in the open warehouse. The in-duct sprinkler demand is not included in either summary ('Total Additional Flow: 0 GPM').
Recommendation
State the hazard classification and design criteria for Rooms 112–114 and for the in-duct sprinklers on FP.601. Either provide a separate remote-area calculation summary or show that the warehouse ESFR remote area governs.
Evidence: FP.601, FP.901, A.113, A.631
Civil
Requirement: A lot of 51–75 spaces needs at least 3 accessible spaces under both 521 CMR 23.2.1 and ADA 208.2. At least 1 of those must be van-accessible: 1 in 8 under 521 CMR 23.2.2 and 1 in 6 under ADA 208.2.4, and the stricter rule governs.
Finding: The 'Parking Computations' table on C2.1 lists Business Office 6,600 SF at 1 per 300 GFA, Lab 6,000 SF at 1 per 400 GFA and Warehouse 31,700 SF at 1 per 1,500 GFA. It gives a total of 57 required and 57 provided. Under 521 CMR 23.2.1 (51–75 range) and ADA 208.2, that total requires 3 accessible spaces, including 1 van-accessible space. C2.1 does not state how many accessible or van-accessible spaces are provided, so the count cannot be compared with the 57-space total on this sheet. The legend lists accessible-space symbology, but no accessible count appears in the parking table. (Applies across 4 sheets: C2.1, C5.1, L.101, L.100.)
Recommendation
Add the accessible and van-accessible counts (minimum 3 accessible, including 1 van) to the C2.1 Parking Computations table. Make sure the striping on C5.1 shows the same count, with the 8 ft van aisle (ADA 502.2) and signage at the head of each space per 521 CMR 23.6.
Evidence: C2.1, C5.1, L.101, L.100, C7.1, L.200, L.300, L.603, L.606, L.301, L.400
Requirement: Accessible walking surfaces must have a running slope of 5% or less and a cross slope of 2% or less. Accessible parking spaces and access aisles must slope no more than 2% in any direction.
Finding: The C2.1 Regulatory Notes say accessible parking and pedestrian routes must meet the more stringent of the ADA and 521 CMR. However, C2.1 gives no numeric running-slope or cross-slope values for walks, ramps or accessible parking. The slope comparison therefore cannot be made from this sheet. The spot grades and slope labels at the accessible spaces and the entrance walk are carried on C6.1 and L.200, with walk and curb-ramp details on C7.x.
Recommendation
Label running and cross slopes, or provide spot elevations, at each accessible space, access aisle, curb ramp and walk segment on C6.1 and L.200. These must show no more than 2% at parking and aisles, no more than 5% running slope and no more than 2% cross slope on the route to the entrance.
Evidence: C2.1, C6.1, L.200, C7.1, C5.1, L.101, C7.2, L.603, L.604, L.606, L.601, L.301, L.400
Recommended Resubmittal Checklist (16)
Items in priority order. Address Critical and Major items first, then Review items.
- 1FAIL criticalCommon path of egress travel – Route DSheet A.002
Reduce the common path at Route D to 100'-0" or less. This can be done by adding an exit or exit-access door, or by relocating doors in the addition so two separate egress paths become available sooner. Revise the A.002 table and plan.
- 2FAIL criticalEmergency shower head heightSheet P.900
Revise Detail 10 on P.900 to dimension the shower head between 82 in. MIN and 96 in. MAX AFF. Coordinate the G1902 mounting so the installed head falls in that range.
- 3FAIL majorFire code of record misidentifiedSheet A.002
Revise A.002 Applicable Codes to 527 CMR 1.00, the Massachusetts Comprehensive Fire Safety Code (NFPA 1 2021). Re-cite the MAQ cabinet/safety-can increase and the combustible-storage notes to NFPA 1 Chapter 60 / NFPA 30, or to the 780 CMR section that retains the IFC reference (780 CMR 413.11, 414.2).
- 4FAIL majorTepid water mixing valve capacity vs. emergency fixture demandSheet P.700, P.900, P.600, E.703
Reselect TMV-2, and size the tempered branch, for the full simultaneous demand required by 248 CMR 10.10(13): two showers at 20 gpm each, plus eyewash flow for the combination unit. Revise P.700 to show design flow and pressure drop at that demand.
- 5FAIL majorZone thermostat deadband – VAV electric reheatSheet H.903
Revise the 4/H.903 sequence chart and the control sequences to give at least a 5°F deadband between heating and cooling setpoints. Include the adjustable setpoints in the H.800 schematics or sequences.
- 6FAIL minorCircuit directory identificationSheet E.703
Revise the PP6 directory to identify each receptacle circuit by room (for example 'RCPT – CONTROL RM #2 113') and each roll-up door by door number. Trace and identify the unlabeled MDP feeders per Demolition General Note 4 on E.001.
- 7REVIEW major521 CMR existing-building trigger analysis absentSheet A.002
Add a 521 CMR 3.3 analysis to the code summary showing the assessed full and fair cash value and the aggregate 36-month construction cost. If 30% or more, identify how the existing building will be brought into compliance or cite an AAB variance.
- 8REVIEW majorAccessible parking count vs. total spacesSheet C2.1, C5.1, L.101, L.100, C7.1, L.200
Add the accessible and van-accessible counts (minimum 3 accessible, including 1 van) to the C2.1 Parking Computations table. Make sure the striping on C5.1 shows the same count, with the 8 ft van aisle (ADA 502.2) and signage at the head of each space per 521 CMR 23.6.
- 9REVIEW majorArc-flash marking and arc energy reductionSheet E.702
Add a note requiring 110.16(A) arc-flash warning labels on MDP, PLP3, PP6 and all modified existing panels, and 110.16(B) label content on the 2000 A service equipment. Where any service or feeder breaker is 1200 A or more, identify the 240.87 method (for example ERMS or a maintenance switch) on E.702.
- 10REVIEW majorAvailable fault current vs. equipment AICSheet E.702, E.703, E.603, E.602, E.111
Provide a fault-current calculation listing utility available fault current and the transformer %Z for T5 and T7. Show available fault current at MDP, PLP3, PP6 and each existing panel receiving new breakers, and confirm each AIC rating exceeds it. Add the 110.24 field-marking requirement for the service equipment.
- 11REVIEW majorControl Rooms 112–114 hazard classification and design areaSheet FP.601
State the hazard classification and design criteria for Rooms 112–114 and for the in-duct sprinklers on FP.601. Either provide a separate remote-area calculation summary or show that the warehouse ESFR remote area governs.
- 12REVIEW majorEWH-1 electrical characteristics mismatchSheet P.700
Coordinate the plumbing and electrical schedules to one voltage and phase for EWH-1. Size the circuit and overcurrent device at 125% or more of the nameplate current per NEC 2023 422.13.
- 13REVIEW majorExhaust fan schedule absent – EF-112 and toilet/break-room exhaust rates not scheduledSheet H.700
Add an exhaust fan schedule to H.700 for EF-112 (and any other new or reused fans). Give CFM, ESP, motor data and spaces served, and show that each toilet room and kitchen meets the 780 CMR 2802 amended exhaust rates. Identify the exhaust source for ERC-2's 2,400 CFM.
- 14REVIEW majorMAQ analysis – use condition and new control areasSheet A.003
Confirm the storage method and the use condition (storage, closed use, open use) for each material on A.003. Revise the A.002 MAQ chart to compare against the governing column. Provide the planned quantities for the new-addition control areas, or a hazardous materials inventory statement acceptable to the fire official under 527 CMR 1.00.
- 15REVIEW minorAccessible route and parking slopesSheet C2.1, C6.1, L.200, C7.1, C5.1, L.101
Label running and cross slopes, or provide spot elevations, at each accessible space, access aisle, curb ramp and walk segment on C6.1 and L.200. These must show no more than 2% at parking and aisles, no more than 5% running slope and no more than 2% cross slope on the route to the entrance.
- 16REVIEW minorExisting EF-2E capacity for renovated restroomsSheet H.600
Provide the EF-2E nameplate or test-and-balance capacity on H.700 and show it equals or exceeds the sum of all connected restroom grilles. If it does not, replace or upsize the fan.
The PDF is the same review rendered by the production report generator.
Ready to run your own compliance review?
Upload your drawings and get a full compliance report in minutes.
Get Started